Treasures in Heaven

One of my weekly chores to accomplish is laundry. This week I managed to get most of it done on my day off, but I ended up finishing this morning. As I was folding my clothes, I came across a huge orange t-shirt. I’ve had this orange t-shirt for awhile. I received it my first summer working at Royal Ridges Retreat. I was a size small at the time, but the only sizes they had left for staff shirts at the time was a large. It was like a tunic on me at the time, and only slightly less so now.

At the end of my time working there, the girls who were camping that week decided that it would be fun to leave messages on each other’s shirts, and soon got some of the staff involved as well. I thought it was a nice souvenir of my time there that summer, so I joined in. The girls and almost each of the staff ended up writing something on the back of my huge orange t-shirt, and I returned the favor to many of them.

Almost all of the message were fun “I’ll miss you!”s and “We had fun!”s. Several of them referenced an inside joke that had gone around that week. Each of them made me smile. Fun little phrases with no real deep meaning. Except for two different messages from two of the older staff members.

After I went home, I had to wash all the clothes I had brought from camp. The first wash did nothing to the messages, and I wore a few times in the days to come. It went through the wash several times. I don’t know when exactly it happened, but eventually, all those meaningless messages faded away and only those two remained.

Message One:

20160126_115209

Message Two: 20160126_115214

Every time I do laundry, this shirt makes me chuckle at what I conceive to be the irony of the meaningful messages lasting for now over 3 years while the others have long since faded away.

Matthew 6:19-21; NASB

19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in or steal; 21 for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

I memorized this passage of scripture during one of my years participating in AWANA. Putting too much stock in those things like clothes, jewelry, cars, even money, won’t last in the long run. These things don’t travel with you to the other side.

Following God’s Word, doing good deeds for others, taking care of widows and orphans, reading scripture daily and learning truth from His Word, these are the things that will last forever. These are things that will strengthen your relationship with God, that will bring you closer to Him. These are things that will help you lay up treasures in heaven.

Where do you store up your treasures? In heaven? Or on earth? 

Leave a Reply

